Being Known

Let’s get real about getting real.

I don’t think anyone actually likes being vulnerable. We’re willing to post about our lives on our favorite social media platforms and parade our political views out for the world to see, but when it comes to actually being vulnerable and sharing our lives with others, we clam up. We shut down. Because it’s not worth the risk, right? If you never open yourself up to get hurt, then you will be safe.

But here’s the problem. We hear over and over again that our world has never been more connected, but that it’s also never been so full of lonely people. We’re lonely because we don’t actually let ourselves be known. This summer, a verse that came up over and over again is 1 Thessalonians 2:8:

So we cared for you. Because we loved you we were delighted to share with you not only the gospel of God but our lives as well. 

Did you catch that? Our whole lives as well. Paul is saying that in order to minister to these Christians, he had to share his life with them. He had to be known. He had to make himself vulnerable. That’s what it took to follow Christ. I will admit that I struggle with letting myself be really known. I made acquaintances easily, but friendships are harder to come by. That’s because I don’t like opening myself up. I don’t like to share my whole life with people. I don’t like to let people see my vulnerable side.

This summer, working with a church, getting the chance to disciple some totally amazing young women, I had to share my life, along with the gospel. It was a beautiful growing experience, and God showed me how His strength is made perfect in my weakness. But now that I’m back to College Park and back to familiar territory, I can feel myself clamming up again. I’ve been hurt. I’ve had friendships change and even fall apart. I don’t want to go down that road again. But the reality is that as a daughter of the Living God, I am called to share my life and His gospel. He already knows me better than I know myself. He knows every insecurity, every hidden sin, every dark thought, and He loves me anyway. One of my favorite passages is in Ezra 10. Verse 4 says “Rise up… take courage, and do it.” Our faith is a call to action. Our faith is a call to be known.

Yes, sometimes being known means getting hurt. Yes, we have to be wise and discerning. But we’re promised that we will never be alone. We are promised that our identity is found in Christ and no amount of rejection or hurt can ever change that. So cheer up. This world can be a lonely place and vulnerability is terrifying, but we are called to be strong and courageous (Joshua 1:9), to rest in God’s love (Psalm 46:10), and to allow God to use our lives for His glory.

Leave a comment