Happily Ever After

It will probably not surprise you that I, a girl who spends her time wiring about finding the beautiful and uplifting things in everyday life, love fairy tales. Even though some might say that I’m too old for such things, I will proudly admit that I love a good happily ever after. This world is so dark and broken, but I love stories where the light shines through and good always wins.

This week opened the last chapter of my undergraduate years at University of Maryland. I’m a senior. This is my last semester. All my grad school applications are submitted, and all that’s left for me to do is wait and enjoy my last semester. Life at Maryland has not always been a fairy tale, far from it. There is a lot of darkness here. As someone (I don’t quite remember who) put it, there is a darkness that can be felt in this place.

One of the things that I love best about fairy tales is that they do not deny that there is darkness and evil or that those things are powerful. They simply show that good always wins. Honestly, I don’t think that’s such a bad thing to believe or to be reminded of.

I do not know if May will be my last month in College Park. I do not know if it will have perfect ending. But I do know that I’m thankful. True, I’m no damsel in distress. There’s been no Prince Charming, no wicked step mother, no evil witch, and no fairy godmother. But there is a God who’s working everything out. He is the one who’s writing my story. So here’s to another semester of happy ever after in progress.

Leave a comment