You can have all this world

As I sit here and write this, I will confess that my brain is going in about a million and two different directions. I’m worried about a wedding at my church tomorrow and what I can do to help. I’m worried about school. I’m worried about clinic. I’m worried about a test on Tuesday. I’m especially worried about grad school.

The admissions decisions have started coming in, and I’m currently stuck in the uncomfortable position of having half the information I need to make a decision and having no idea when the other half will arrive. For the first time in a long time, I really don’t know what I want. I don’t know where it is that I want to go. It all depends on factors outside of my knowledge or control. Add to that an ever growing to-do list here in College Park, and you’ll get a stressed out senior.

A few weeks ago, I started listening to a lot of praise and worship music while I’m driving or walking around. It’s a nice reminder to breathe and trust that God has everything under control. Today, I got an e-mail from an admissions office at one of the grad schools that I applied to. Rather than just enjoy an acceptance letter to one of my top choices, I immediately started freaking out over the fact that I have no idea when I’ll hear back from my other top choice.

Then I heard it, “Give me Jesus. Give me Jesus. You can have all this world. Give me Jesus.” What beautiful and amazing words. You can have this world. All of it. There is nothing that isn’t included in that. All the worries, all the cares, all the fears, everything. Just give me Jesus.

I admit, that my heart is often set on many things other than Jesus. I am too attached to too many things that are of this world. But tonight, I’m thankful for the reminder that no matter what happens, I have been given the greatest gift and received the greatest treasure imaginable. I have Jesus… So the rest can wait. And I will rest in Him.

Leave a comment